Lazy Lady’s Skin Care Routine 2016

OKAY HOLD ON LET ME EXPLAIN. I know what you are thinking! What kind of lazy lady has a regimen consisting of more than one or two things?? Hindi ka tunay na tamad, Polly! Isa kang huwad! I know it looks like a lot of STUFF to have to DO to yourself, and as a fellow lazy lady, you are probably finding the fact that I have a list of products like this is absolutely reprehensible. So first, a couple of disclaimers!

As i mentioned in my previous post, i actually did not go out and purchase a buttload of new items since my Skin Care epiphany – many of these products, i already had lying around and was just not using for one reason or another. Mostly that reason was i had no idea what they did or why i should use them.

Because of that, the list looks bloated. I’m trying to use up all the products i have lying around because it’s just rotting away in drawers and shelves and things. Sayang! A lot of these items could actually work for both nighttime and daytime use, i just use two different kinds for the same function maybe (like face washing) cause i happen to have two kinds.

Also, i’ve found that taking my time to do this does actually help my skin clear up and feel better. A breakout i’d been fighting for over a year disappeared in two weeks, i think just because i’ve been washing my face more thoroughly and more often. Just training myself to have that awareness – of cleansing, moisturizing and protecting – has really upped my game and helped my skin survive all the crazy i’ve put it through.

Ok enough talking! Here’s my routine, with some reviews.

morning2016_3

1. Wash face

sc_am_1

 

 

Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser – Everyone’s used this at least once in their life, right? This cleanser gets a lot of bad rap because a lot of people find it a mite TOO gentle, but since i’m reluctant to wash my face in the morning anyway (CAUSE WHY??) i feel better about it using this because it doesn’t feel too soapy

2. Tone

sc_am_2

 

Hada Labo Gokujyun Light Lotion – THIS STUFF IS LIFE-CHANGING. This product contains something called hyaluronic acid, a humectant (moisturising agent) that’s got a whole mess of benefits. It isn’t sticky or heavy. It looks like water, but applies like lotion. I love it so much. I put it in a little spray bottle so i don’t have to fuss too much about putting it in my hands; i just pat it on. There’s a specific way to do it according to the company’s website, but i just let it air dry. Also this bottle is huge, and you don’t need much daily, so it looks like it will last me upwards of 4 or 5 months.

3. Moisturize

sc_am_3

Celeteque Dermoscience Hydration Facial Moisturizer – I had this lying around because i was using it to travel, but the bottle was usually too big for my bag. It’s got a light gel consistency, is totally non-greasy sits very well beneath makeup.

4. Sunblock

sc_am_4

Dr Jart Derma Defense UV Sun Fluid – One of my new purchases. This is a beautiful sunblock though: great creamy consistency, dries quickly, and sits well under my makeup too. Even in tandem with the moisturizer it doesn’t make me greasy at all, just the right amount of dewy for my alcohol-based BB cream to neutralize (I KNOW that’s bad, but more on that in another post).

 5. Makeup (if i’m going out)

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

6. Sunblock reapplication (optional cause lazy)

sc_am_5

For when i am feeling crispy toasted in the sun and really feel like it is necessary, I got a bottle of Belo SunExpert Transparent Mist. This stuff is SPF50, is clear, and doesn’t feel heavy or greasy at all. It goes over makeup nicely and i can even put it on my neck and shoulders.

 

And that’s it for daytime stuff! Makeup is another discussion entirely and i’ll let you guys in on that in a future post. For now, on to:

evening2016_2.jpg

1. Remove makeup

sc_pm_1

If i’ve felt fancy enough in a day to put on makeup (i.e. i had a client meeting or something and had to look like an adult female), the first thing i do when i’m settling down for the evening is take it all off! These are my preferred products: Clinique Take The Day Off Makeup Remover, which is an oil-based remover that I’ll typically use for more stubborn lip and eye products. It can be a bit strong for me, so i try to use it sparingly. For the rest of my face, I’ll use these Gentle Facial Cleansing Wipes, which is perhaps the most generic name imaginable, but it does as promised. Also it’s 39 PHP which is CHEAP AS SHIT and i love it.

2. Double cleanse

sc_pm_2

I bought a bottle of Neutrogena Deep Clean Brightening Cleansing Oil by mistake a couple months ago because i thought it was a makeup remover, but it’s actually an oil cleanser that emulsifies when it combines with water. So i use this to oil cleanse… i’m still a bit dubious about anything that says brightening or whitening (APPARENTLY THERE IS A DIFFERENCE?!), but i just thought since i use it at night, and i do all these sunblocky things in the daytime anyway, so it might not be so bad. But we’ll see. My evening facial wash is Dr Jart+ Dermaclear Micro Foam, which came free with my sunblock! At first use i thought it was a bit strong, but after repeated use, the finish is actually pretty soft and smooth, so it has grown on me!

2. Tone

I just use the Hada Labo stuff. SO GOOD.

3. Moisturize

sc_pm_3

Nivea Rich Regenerating Night Cream – I got this stuff in New Zealand because i ran out of my usual, and i don’t love it. It feels very thick and it’s very very rich, but it feels like it just sits on top of my face. In the morning i don’t really notice any residue or anything like that, so maybe it’s my imagination, but i don’t ~look forward~ to my moisturizing because i do not enjoy this cream. Maybe it’s a more heavy-duty night cream than i’m used to, but i’m just not into it. It also sometimes stings any dryness or flakyness i might have. It’s basically Crisco for your face.

4. Eye cream

sc_pm_4

Etude House Moistfull Collagen Eye Cream – This is an absolutely frivolous product. I got this a few weeks ago because i have never used eye cream in my life and i just felt like … i wanted to understand!! What the fuss was all about! And this product gets rave reviews everywhere, and it’s NON-WHITENING, which is a complete unicorn in and of itself. It’s actually super nice, since i started using it i’ve rubbed my eyes less, and i don’t feel so baggy and puffy in the morning, even when i get less than my usual hours of sleep. I could live without it though.

OKAY I GUESS I’M DONE NOW.

Leave a Reply

