Product Review: Dry Shampoo

Dry shampoo always seemed … like too much trouble for me. Kinda gimmicky, overpriced, that kinda thing. Yeah, oily hair between washes is kinda gross, but i always did figure that by the time it became too much of a problem anyway, i could just take a shower like a normal person.

Howevs, after having to attend too many client meetings this year with a greasy, gross mop of hair (AND IT’S ONLY FEBRUARY), i decided to give it a shot. Here’s my hair profile in case you need to know what you’re up against:

Thickness: Very fine
Moisture profile: Dry
Texture: Big curls
Length: Short
Coloured? Yes.
Other hair habits: Only shower at night, only wash at night, use no product except shampoo and conditioner

I decided to go out and purchase my own can. I reached for Dove at Watson’s, but next to it i saw another brand that sold for cheaper and had more product (6.76 FL OZ vs Dove’s 5). That brand was COLAB, and feeling adventurous I decided to give it a shot.

I got COLAB Sheer + Invisible Dry Shampoo in New York, which promised me a fruity fragrance. I was reading reviews on my phone while deciding whether to get this or Dove, and I must say the reviews online for this product are very mixed. Apparently it was created by a model/blogger (a model blogger? hehe) named Ruth Crilly, who blogs on A Model Recommends, and i guess it found its way over here! Curious, i picked it up. Here’s a very short-winded review:

Application

Comes on in nice, non-jerky puffs of aerosol.

Smell

Just okay, not as fresh and fruity as i expected. A bit chemically, but very clean.

Oil absorption

See for yourself:

drysh02drysh01

These images are undoctored, and straight from my phone. All i did was spray the product into my roots and finger-comb through. I would definitely say that results are V I S I B L E. It’s also a plus that it doesn’t weigh my hair down too much – since my hair is so fine, it tends to be sensitive to chemical sediment, and this product did not show signs of flattening or de-puffing my natural curls.

I think that speaks for itself! I think it’s time to give my rating!

drysh03.jpg

That came as no surprise, did it? If you are in the market for a dry shampoo, give Colab Sheer + Invisible Dry Shampoo (230 PHP at Watson’s) a try!

Leave a Reply

